"SHSI Certificate of Recognition"
"Best on the Web"

Encyclopedia Dubuque


"Encyclopedia Dubuque is the online authority for all things Dubuque, written by the people who know the city best.”
Marshall Cohen—researcher and producer, CNN

Affiliated with the Local History Network of the State Historical Society of Iowa, and the Iowa Museum Association.


From Encyclopedia Dubuque
Jump to navigationJump to search

INGRAM, KENNEDY & DAY. In 1876 the firm of Ingram, Kennedy & Day opened for business as a saw mill. (1) The company was cost $30,000. Prior to this they had leased the mill of the IOWA LUMBER COMPANY on CATFISH CREEK. (2) The mill, however, was destroyed by fire on November 18, 1875. (3) It was stated in the December 2, 1876 Dubuque Herald that plans of Ingram, Kennedy & Day were also underway for the establishment of a planing mill. In 1882 the company was incorporated as the STANDARD LUMBER COMPANY. (4)

The 1868-69 Dubuque City Directory listed the northeast corner of 7th and Iowa.

The 1870-1871 through 1878-79 Dubuque City Directory gave the address of this business as the northeast corner of 7th and Jackson.

The 1880 Dubuque City Directory stated that this business was to be found at 602 7th.



1. "First Saw Mill Erected by Dubuquers in 1876," Telegraph-Herald and Times-Journal, August 24, 1930, p. 15

2. "Six Breweries Was Dubuque's Boast Way Back in 1875," Telegraph-Herald, April 9, 1922, p. 30

3. "Disastrous Fire," The Dubuque Herald, November 19, 1875, p. 1

4. "Dubuque," Dubuque Herald, December 2, 1876, p. 4. Online: https://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=uh8FjILnQOkC&dat=18761202&printsec=frontpage&hl=en