"Encyclopedia Dubuque is the online authority for all things Dubuque, written by the people who know the city best.”
Marshall Cohen—researcher and producer, CNN
Affiliated with the Local History Network of the State Historical Society of Iowa, and the Iowa Museum Association.
SIBBING'S JEWELRY. H.F.C. Schneider opened a jewelry store in downtown Dubuque in 1882. Ed Sibbing joined the firm, and the company was renamed Schneider and Sibbing's. Sibbing purchased the business in 1922 and changed the name to--Sibbing's. The 1929 through 1941 Dubuque City Directory listed the address as 803 Main.
After the death of Sibbing in 1942, the business was purchased by Nat Teguns. In 1948 through 1966 the Dubuque City Directory listed 835 Main for the store's location.
In 1952 Ray Robey, who had worked in the store as a watchmaker since 1930, purchased the business from Tegun. Sibbings was last owned by George E. ROBEY. Robey decided to retire in 1997 and the store was closed.
From 1957 to 1972 the company was located at 835 Main.
In 1976 the business address was 896 Town Clock Plaza.
The business relocated around 1974 to 890 Main.
The 1980 and 1983 Dubuque City Directory listed the Graham Building.
The 1985 through 1987 Dubuque City Directory listed KENNEDY MALL and the Graham Building. The downtown store closed in 1987.
The 1989 through 1993 Dubuque City Directory listed Kennedy Mall.
Bergstrom, Kathy. "Ring of Happiness a Gem to Jewelry Store Owner," Telegraph Herald, December 6, 1997, p. 1. Online: https://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=aEyKTaVlRPYC&dat=19971206&printsec=frontpage&hl=en