"Encyclopedia Dubuque is the online authority for all things Dubuque, written by the people who know the city best.”
Marshall Cohen—researcher and producer, CNN
Affiliated with the Local History Network of the State Historical Society of Iowa, and the Iowa Museum Association.
MEHAN AND BROTHER
MEHAN AND BROTHER. The announcement that the eleventh lumberyard was to be opened in Dubuque was made in the Dubuque Herald on January 6, 1865. The company operated by Patrick and James Mehan who had experience in the lumber business in Wisconsin and Canada. The lumber was milled at Lumbert's Mill in Wisconsin.
The 1865 Dubuque City Directory listed the corner of 6th and White.
"New Lumber Yard," Dubuque Herald, January 6, 1866, p. 4. Online: https://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=uh8FjILnQOkC&dat=18660106&printsec=frontpage&hl=en