"SHSI Certificate of Recognition"
"Best on the Web"

Encyclopedia Dubuque


"Encyclopedia Dubuque is the online authority for all things Dubuque, written by the people who know the city best.”
Marshall Cohen—researcher and producer, CNN

Affiliated with the Local History Network of the State Historical Society of Iowa, and the Iowa Museum Association.


From Encyclopedia Dubuque
Jump to: navigation, search

AFL-CIO. The American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO), the largest federation of unions in the United States, is made up of fifty-six national and international unions representing more than 11 million workers as of June 2008. It was formed in 1955 when the AFL and the CIO merged. The largest union in the AFL-CIO is the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME), with more than a million members.

On February 2, 1959 the former DUBUQUE TRADES AND LABOR CONGRESS (AFL) and the Dubuque County Industrial Union Council (CIO) were officially brought together as a result of the merger of the parent organizations in 1955. The unification brought together an estimated thirty-five unions in Dubuque, the last Iowa city to effect the merger. The installation of the federation's charter was made by Hubert Butts of the Chicago regional AFL-CIO office.

Albert M. Von Ah, member of the Upholsters Local 1861 (AFL) was the first president of the new AFL-CIO Dubuque Federation of Labor. The Federation had jurisdiction in Clayton, Dubuque, Fayette, Jackson, and Jones counties in Iowa and Jo Daviess County in Illinois.]